Inspiring women icons honoured at 5th annual Raindropss women achievers awards

The 5th edition of Raindropss Women Achievers Awards, which was instituted to honour women achievers in various fields, was presented at an event at the Spencer Plaza, Chennai.

Conceived by Raindropss, a youth based social organization well known for spreading social awareness messages through entertainment and media, organized its 5th annual Women Achievers Awards presented by Sathyabama University in association with BOFTA film instititute, the awards were instituted in 2011 to honour women achievers across various genres. Oscar winning music composer A.R.Rahman’s sister, Music Director turned Producer A.R.Raihanah also the Goodwill Ambassador of Raindropss presided over these celebrations held in appreciation of international women’s day.

This year, lifetime achievement award was conferred on Saalumarada Thimmakka, 106 years old Environmentalist from karnataka and women achievers awards include Meenakshi Ammal oldest woman in India practicing Kalaripayattu from Kerala, first tamil woman to win medals at asian games Santhi Soundarajan from Tamil Nadu, Queen of Kollywood Nayanthra, First woman loco pilot of southern railways C V Thilagavathy from Chennai, First woman project director of ISRO Anuradha TK from Bangalore, World Whistling Champion Swetha Suresh from Chennai, Farmer Navaneetham from Thiruvallur district, Automobile Franchise Expert Wahitha Shahjahan from Pondicherry, Social Activist Vijayasree, Palam Silks Jayasree Ravi from Chnenai and Special recognition to visually challenged vocalist and instrumentalist Jyothi from Chennai were presented in the grand ceremony.

Music director turned actor G.V.Prakash Kumar, Music Director and Goodwill Ambassador of Raindropss A.R.Raihanah, Pro-Challencor of Sathyabama University Dr. Mariazeena Johnson, Music Director Bhavatharani, Chairman of VGP Groups Dr. V.G.Santhosham, Exnora founder M.B.Nirmal, Organic Scientist Dr. Sultan Ahmed Ismail, Padma Shri Dr. T.V Devarajan, BOFTA Film Institute Founder Dhananjayan, Lyricist Uma Devi,Asia’s first women bus driver Vasanthakumari, Journalist Hariharan, Founders of Naturals CK Kumaravel and Veena Kumaravel graced the occasion and presented the awards to the achievers.

It has been a vision of Raindropss to recognize and honor the achievers in their own fields, similar to our projects Edupreneur Awards and Change Maker Awards; we take great pleasure in honoring the outstanding women achievers across various every year to commomerate the International Women’s Day celebrations, also as a part of the celebrations we have adopted Seers Girls Home located at Vysarpadi to support the education of the girl children and their livelihood, Says Aravind Jayabal, Founder and Creative Head of Raindropss.

Some of the awardees from past year include Missile Woman Tessy Thomas, Pooja Thakur, who was the first woman to led the guard of honour to US President, carnatic vocalist Sudha Raghunathan, Asia’s first woman bus driver vasanthakumari, first woman FIFA Refree Rupa Devi, Acid attack fighter Laxmi.